2015 Review

Another year has passed and a new year about to begin. When I think about the short term as in weeks or months, it can feel that accomplishing a goal is out of reach but looking back on 2015 I did a lot.

-Participated once again in Goblin Week on Tumblr, its hard to pass up a reason to draw goblins.

-Got a mentorship with Cory Godbey, transforming my process, tools, and exploration of narrative illustration.

-Finished my first sketchbook Songs of Fablewood, featuring numerous sketches, drawings and illustrations of a folklore inspired world populated by creatures.

-Successfully funded my first kickstarter to print Songs of Fablewood.

-Attended Illuxcon for the 3rd year, had a table at the showcase and got to meet up with many of the cool artists I met last year. Though it was a bummer that the whole time I was there I had no voice from allergy season.

-Attended NYCC for the first time in many years and had a great time. Got to meet my mentor Cory Godby and even made some awesome new Dungeons and Dragons friends.

-Finished another whole year of Monster Monday, 52 new monster/creature drawings.

-Had some of my artwork featured on Geek and Sundry’s website in a Critical Role gallery.

-Got to participate in Listen To Your Third Eye zine with a new 3 eyed troll witch.

For the upcoming year I plan to continue to make strides as an artist; fleshing out more of Fablewood and exploring the other parts/inhabitants of the world. I will also be pushing myself to get more professional work and not depend on my day job as my sole income. I also plan on writing more on my blog, I have really dropped the ball when it comes to adding my thoughts to blog posts.

All will take time but I’m sure 2016 will be just as successful as 2015.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

